Resource Family Approval

The Resource Family Approval (RFA) Program was authorized through Senate Bill 1013 (Chapter 35, Statutes of 2012). The statute requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS), in consultation with county child welfare agencies, foster parent associations, and other interested community parties, to implement a unified, family friendly, and child-centered resource family approval process to replace the existing multiple processes for licensing foster family homes, approving relatives and nonrelative extended family members as foster care providers, approving guardianships, and approving adoptive families.

Five counties that represent varying geographical locations have been selected to be early implementers of the RFA Program. The five counties include Kings, San Francisco, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Santa Clara.

In November of 2012 an RFA kick-off event occurred with the five early implementation counties and CWDA. The counties will begin implementation of the RFA program between October of 2013 and February of 2014 and continue for three full fiscal years.

CDSS anticipates statewide implementation of the RFA Program to begin as early as July of 2017.

SB 1013 (Chapter 35, Statutes of 2012)

RFA Implementation Guide
RFA Memorandum of Understanding
RFA Comprehensive Implementation Plan
RFA Fact Sheet

Written Directives

Current Version RFA Written Directives, Version 1 (Revised 11/22/13)

Prior Version RFA Written Directives

Webinars and PowerPoints

Project Management Team Meeting Minutes

Workgroup Meeting Minutes

Regulations/Statute Review

The Project Management Team reviewed regulations and identified areas that will or will not apply to RFA statute and identified changes that may need to occur:

Forms(only to be utilized by early implementation counties)

County Information

San Luis Obispo County

Please direct questions to